Snow boys

SKI PARTY original 1965 SNOW SKIING movie photo FRANKIE AVALON:ARON KINCAID

Frankie Avalon (who could ski as well as he could surf… nada!), and skiers Dwayne Hickman and Aron Kincaid in Ski Party (1965).

Retro : Separating Dwayne From Dobie
December 11, 1994|SUSAN KING | TIMES STAFF WRITER

Hickman, 60, the younger brother of actor Darryl Hickman, began his career 54 years ago as an extra in the John Ford classic “The Grapes of Wrath.”

“I started as a 6-year-old,” says Hickman, who comes across just as nice as Dobie Gillis. “I think I worked two days. I know I made $21. I don’t remember it very well. My brother had a big role in that, he played one of the Joads. I was always growing up around the studios.”

In the ’50s he became a teen idol, thanks to his roles as Chuck in the sitcom “The Bob Cummings Show” and his debut as “Dobie Gillis.” In his book, Hickman writes about his hilarious and disastrous attempts to become a singer during those days.

After “Dobie” left the air, Hickman segued into motion pictures, appearing in “Cat Ballou” and low-budget A.I.P. flicks such as “Ski Party.” When roles began to dwindle in the ’70s, Hickman gave up acting and managed a Las Vegas resort; he also spent several years as a CBS executive. Recently, he’s been a director and has written scripts with his third wife, Joan. Hickman, who has a 30-year-old son, is also the proud dad of a 2-year-old son.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.